Do you think my kitten is overweight?

deoxys

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello everyone. It's my first time on this site but more importantly my first time owning a cat! :)

Toby is now just over 4 months, of which i've had the pleasure of sharing the last 2 with him as I got him when he was 8 weeks old. He is a really fun, inquisitive, loving little fellow.

I was just wondering whether you think he is growing up fine! All of a sudden he seems to have gained weight yet hes been on the same diet of 2 x Whiskers kitten pouches a day with a bowl of dry kibble. (I must say I do give him a few treats throughout the day!)

Hes quite a little fluff ball so I don't know whether the fur is just deceiving me. I play with him most of the day and he gets tons of exercise as has a lot of toys he plays with.

I was wondering if you think he resembles any certain breeds too. Anyone could help me out on this? When I took him the vet a few weeks ago she said to me that he looks like he will grow up to be quite a big cat, tall and long.

Hope you managed to read this and I await the replies.

Thanks alot, Deo!

Here are a few pics!

catpack

TCS Veteran
Kitten
Purraise
Toby is a cutie! It's really hard to have an overweight 4 month old and he looks ok to me. But, you can always run him to the vet for a weight check to make sure.

I find it pretty normal for kittens to grow outward than upward or vice versa, so they sometimes look filled out and others they look more lanky.

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
I think he is very nicely shaped.  Healthy cats in good condition shall have some meat on them.  Its just in some breeds which shall be sleek, typical example modern siameses, but also russian blue, where they shall be -  sleek.

Almost all other should have some meat on them, when healthy.