Day 40 on feral kitten - not very much hope left

zatteberry

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise

My name is  Zach. I have been working at the humane society here in Hannibal for two years now and have volunteered for two years as well at the facility. 

One thing I have picked up is socializing feral kittens. I have socialized quite a few within the last year and have gotten them adopted. 

The one I am socializing now I have been working on for about 40 days.  At first when I removed him from the pet carrier he hissed and bit me through a pair of welding gloves. He used to hiss at me right when he saw my face and launch attacks at me without me even opening the cage. Now I can pet him anywhere (including stomach) when he is eating canned food and very rarely I can do it when he is not. 

But since I have been free-feeding he almost has no interest during the socialization sessions so he has resorted to watching me very carefully all of a sudden... and sometimes he even stops eating to give me a nasty look. The good thing is that his ears are always erect and that he has been sleeping closer to the opening of the cage rather than in the corner which is a great thing.  And he seems to be interested in what is going on outside the cage.

Today I am going to start leaving just a little kitten food (and of course water at all times) to cover just  the time I am gone and start meal time during the sessions. I feel I am not making the progress I want to by this point and it is worrying me... I have even thought about letting the feral kitten out in my room to see if the progress accelerates. He seems to like talking with my other cats through the cage and playing with them through the cage.

Thoughts? Ideas? I value any help and support I can get during this time...

Thank you all very much in advance for your interest in helping me get this kitten up to speed for adoption.

Last edited:

ritz

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise