Cremation or burial and why?

claire98909

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi, I have an 8-year-old kitty who was diagnosed yesterday with intestinal carcinoma.  We have decided to let nature run its course instead of doing surgery and chemo, but are giving her prednisolone to make her more comfortable.  She has about 3 months, but if she significantly worsens at any time we will put her to rest.

I'm wondering, for those of who who have experienced losing your pets (this is my first time and honestly I'm terrified of how in grief I already am), whether you went for cremation or burial, and why you chose what you did.

Thanks,

Claire

pinkdagger

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I'm so sorry to hear about your cat.

I've only dealt with birds in the past, but I had all three at the vet when their time came (one was an emergency and she died there, two were put to sleep). I went with cremation for all three. I didn't want to bury them because our area used to have a lot of wildlife, and the last thing I wanted was for them to be unearthed accidentally (whether it was a result of flooding, roaming animals, yardwork, construction, etc.).

I wanted that "physical" thing at first, but then I later realized how impractical it would be to carry every single urn of pets I own and would own in the future - the heartbreak if one were to get bumped or fall and shatter open. The first two, I brought the ashes home and the third, I had a communal cremation so they would spread the ashes on their cemetery grounds. One big company operates within this area of my province, so even though I went to two different vets, the same company handled it all - I've also seen this company advertised for grieving pet owners at other vet's offices.