Cat with liver disease Tips and Advice on care

Kiryuu_The_Cat

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello everyone
My cat has been recently diagnosed with liver disease, he is currently at the vet for further monitoring and to get an in-depth diagnosis. The vet said that he will send him back home with medication and a special food.
Any one here has some experience with helping their cats get better, especially when it comes to getting their appetite back. This is my first time with dealing with a condition like this so I am lost at the moment, any tips and advice would be very much appreciated.

mrsgreenjeens

Every Life Should Have Nine Cats
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
It really depends on what is causing the issue. One of my cats had hepatic lipidosis many years ago, and with that, he completely lost his appetite and had to have a feeding tube put in so we could feed him through that. This may be the case with your little one. As I said, it really depends on what's wrong. Wait for your Vet to advise you. They will be able to direct you on medications also. The liver can usually heal itself as long as the underlying condition is treated, so that's what the Vet needs to determine...what caused the issue in the first place. Sometimes it's an infection of some sort.

Anyway, hang in there and let us know more once YOU know more.

MissClouseau

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Like it's been said already liver problems are usually secondary to something else. While at the vet, I would ask for Fortiflora. It's probiotics but also an appetite enhancer and helps to get cats eat, and has a few things to support the immune system too.

I use this to support the liver health as prescribed by our vet: Silycumin