Cat Tearing Up Cardboard/Paper

acidcrys

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi, new to this board so I'm hoping this is the right place to post this (pretty sure).

My cat (about 9-10 months) has been tearing up papers and cardboard viciously for some time now. This is infact the reason I joined these boards. At first he'd just find paper anywhere and start tearing it apart with his mouth just chew it to pieces. This wasn't a big deal to me. But as a college student I have to keep cardboard boxes stored - and now he's scratching and chewing these apart.

I don't punish I just try to move the boxes out of his reach - but he always finds them. He'll climb up as high as possible, sneak into the closet when I have it open for just a second, or find any kind of cardboard anywhere. As soon as I stand up to see if he is infact chewing up this cardboard he runs for his life (almost as if he knows he's being naughty !
)

I'm concerned for his health - can cardboard hurt him? I try to keep him from eating it but even when I'm cleaning up the mess he'll roll into the dirt pile and start eating the pieces of cardboard!

And its a huge issue because he'll do it in the middle of the night when I need to be sleeping, making it where I have to kick him out of my room because I can't go without sleep every night which makes me feel highly guilty.

Which adds another question.. is there anyway to try and train a cat to have the same bed time as you? I swear as soon as I lay down my cat appears out of no where and starts jumping on my desk and knocking down everything (he loves knocking down full cups) and tearing things apart. Its slowly driving me insane.

Any help at all would be wonderful
Thanks.

kumbulu

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise