Cat scratching her face bloody

mimi23

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello, i just created this account and im new to this platform but i am a little desperate. my cat randomly got fleas after being flea-free for months. after i blocked off all the areas that were flea infested i started bathing her with dawn dish soap regularly but after i noticed that the problem wasn’t going away, i put her on frontline flea treatment 2 months ago and i stopped bathing her thinking it would help, but i think that worsened the issue. for the past two months she has slowly gotten worse, she was always scratching and biting herself but now she’s mainly scratching her cheeks, top of her head, and ear areas. i kept telling myself to wait for the flea treatment to work and i have one more left for this month but i need to do something now. this week i noticed she won’t really be out during the day but comes out from my room late afternoons/nights. tonight though she keeps scratching the same areas i mentioned over and over again and shes leaving her skin raw and bloody. i want to bath her tomorrow with dawn dish soap but now she has wounds on her face and i don’t want to hurt her, what should i do?

heatherwillard0614

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Do you have an e collar? She needs to wear one if she is going to keep scratching her head and face area until she bleeds...
Do you still have fleas in the house? If so you will have to get rid of all the fleas in the home. Give her a bath use the dish soap on her body if she has fleas they will try to run up towards her head this is where you need to try to pick them off of her with a flea comb and your fingers.. sometimes a soft little piece of a sponge helps as well. I wouldn't use soap on her face while she is all cut up.
What might be better yet is an actual flea shampoo I really like these 2 flea shampoos

Attachments

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

mimi23

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise