Cat pee on baseboards

IndyJones

Adopt don't shop.
Top Cat
Purraise
Not sure where to put this so feel free to move it.

I think Indy must have peed on my baseboards when she had a bladder infection (long since better) earlier this month. She is fine now so don't worry about her but I turned the baseboards on since my heatpump was struggling to keep up with the cold snap and a horrid smell came off them, looked inside and sure enough yellow marks on the fins. I think they cooked the pee onto them. How would I get this stench out? Should I just let it burn off and open the window? I cannot remove the baseboard from the wall since its hardwired in. Anyone know of a way to clean pee out of inside baseboards?

backwoodsvet

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I'm no expert on this, but I use to have a friend that did a.c. work and to my dismay, he had all kinds of sprays that would clean up and de-odorize a.c. coils....what your talking about would kinda be along those same lines......just a thought.........

di and bob

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I woudl get some Natures Miracle, turn them off for a while and tehn light spray them. If you can, wipe off any you can get too. Then spray again. Sometimes I have had to spray three times, but it vhas enzymes to destroy the urine and works! It even got dog urine out of a conceret basement!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

IndyJones

Adopt don't shop.
Top Cat
Purraise
I think most of it is inside the unit on the fins. I did turn them off last night but now the house is chilly.

If only I could get the front peice off then I could actualy reach the area where the pee is. It is inside on the fins.

IndyJones

Adopt don't shop.
Top Cat
Purraise
I can't reach the fins where the pee is thats my problem. There is a sheet of metal that goes across them i can't get anything in there. If i was to just spray it would not reach the fins.

IndyJones

Adopt don't shop.
Top Cat
Purraise