Cat being put to sleep, please help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

zombiekitten

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
  Hello, this is my first time posting on here.
 I just made an account a few second's ago, so I'm not 100% sure I'm even posting in the right area for this. If not, please let me know and I apologize. My cat Looney got sick a few weeks ago, he was running a 104 fever, wasn't eating as much, not drinking water as much and was just mostly sleeping around. They did all sorts of tests on him, and couldn't find a single thing wrong. Everything was coming back normal, he was put on multiple different antibiotics, and even steroids. Nothing stopped this fever, or even moved it. He constantly stays around 103-104 fever. 

Just almost a week ago, he'd stopped using the bathroom as much, stopped eating and drinking water. I began to force feed him food, since his medication required him to have food on his stomach and I wanted to keep him alive through this in hopes he would make it and fight through it... I force fed him baby food (just plain chicken/broth and stuff like that) and force feed him milk and water. I was forcing medication down his throat, and even after all of that... The fever never broke, and he only get worse. A couple of day's ago I'd noticed he was having a hard time standing. He went to get off the bed, and he fell down because he lost his balance. I called my vet quickly and she said maybe he just got too hot since he was under the cover's. But the wobbling never went away, and now he's gotten to where he's stopped moving. And when he does try and move, he usually ends up falling over on his side, or walks funny or off balanced. I rushed him to the vets, and she looked at him. She said she believes that he has the dry form of FIP. She told me I could spends 100's of dollars to have him cut open, but they may or may not find anything. And we've already spent almost 600 on all the tests and visits just trying to figure out what's wrong.