Cat Attacking Me

hopps

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Sometimes my cat will start arching her back, put her ears back, tilt her head sideways and breathe really hard (audible breathing). Then she'll straight up attack me. Today she almost broke skin biting me. Saying no doesn't deter her at all and she's about 8 months old. I'm not really sure what I'm supposed to do when she gets like that. Any advice?

if i fit i sit

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
that is weird to me, i never saw that happen. 

she might be afraid of something that you are carrying or maybe a color you were wearing or the clothes themselves. 

does she bite defensively or just when you pet her? because i read somewhere that cats would sometimes give bites of affection to their owners.

i'm not really an expert so i'm not sure what's going on but i hope it stops.  

whiskylollipop

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I don't know why she would attack you and it would probably be a better long-term solution to figure out the root of the problem and try to understand what's really setting her off, but whenever my cat gets too aggressive in his play and hurts me, I hiss.

Open your mouth, arch the back of your tongue up near the roof of your mouth, and blow air out aggressively. It exactly imitates a cat's hiss, and that very effectively lets a cat know that it should back off immediately. I hope it works for you!

musicalcats

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise