Brought pregnant stray into basement, what to do?

Russianmix

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I've had a friendly stray coming around outside for about a month. I have zero experience with pregnant cats, she looked sort of big but I wasn't sure whether she was pregnant or not. Well, just today I noticed some yellowish discharge near her vagina...thought it was an infection at first, but after doing some research and based on the size of her belly, I'm now thinking it's more likely a mucus plug, so I wound up luring her into the basement in case she's about to give birth. Anything I need to know aside from the basics of food, water and shelter? The whole thing has me kind of nervous, because she's not vaccinated and has never been to the vet as far as I know. I have indoor vetted cats in the house, and am concerned about germs, fleas, ticks, etc crawling up into the house under the basement door or something.

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
She can be wormed while pregnant, and you can also apply flea prevention to the back of her neck (Advantage II or Frontline). She can be vaccinated after the kittens wean.

Have you set up a couple of cozy nests for her? Is it warm enough in your basement?

It’s very kind of you to take her in. With her being separated from your cats, it’s unlikely any germs will travel upstairs. Many strays are quite healthy, especially if they were previously owned.

Does she seem young, as though this might be her first litter? Since she’s likely losing her mucus plug, she’ll be due soon, so do check on her frequently.

Do keep us posted!

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
I agree, you dont need to be too concerned about the safety at this moment. Especielly as your residents are full vaccinated, and she seems healthy.
Its of course wise you keep her separated and quarantinned. "The guarded is protected by God" as the proverb says...