Brought a stray/feral cat in and now he won’t leave his carrier

meownomania

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I have been feeding this cat for a couple months and realised that he appeared to have an eye infection. I got worried and ended up capturing him and taking him to the vet. He had to get sedated and got a few shots from the vet. I decided to bring him into my home after this, finding out he was healthy. I left the opened carrier in my unused guest bathroom, along with a bed, scratching post, food/water, and a litter box. it’s been about 5-6 hours and he hasn’t left the carrier. I am now supper worried. I am pretty sure he used the bathroom in the carrier as well. The vet advised me to just let him be and allow him to adjust at his own pace. Should I be worried or do anything? or let him be for the time being.

bfmay

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
It's wonderful that you have given this sweet stray cat a home. I am new to this site so I'll let others give you their seasoned advice, but I will say that your vet is correct. It takes time, sometimes weeks or more, for a feral/stray to adjust. But he will in his own time. He doesn't have to stay in the carrier, but he'll want to hide somewhere. He feels safe inside the carrier right now. The cat that I just brought inside is hiding under a couch. But mine will come out to eat, and yours will, too. Put the food where he can easily see and smell it. He will probably start using the litter box on his own, but there is help for that, too, on this site. You have come to the right place! Be patient and don't force anything on your new baby. Good luck. Others on this site will have terrific advice.

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi
He's hopefully not sitting in pee in the carrier?

Keep an eye on him, if he's reluctant to use the litterbox you can add some soil so it seems more familiar.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

meownomania

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi