Battling IBD for 3 years, have weird sleep question

Ocean Planet

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
My oldest boy turns 16.5 this week. His name is Obie. I've been managing his IBD for just over 3+ years but I'm afraid it is getting to him more now that he is further into the senior years of life. Usually, he might throw up once or twice a month. Now, it seems he is throwing up a few times per week since the week of Christmas. Some good days and some bad. Usually when he does I can get him to take a Cerenia pill in his wet food and it would help. In the past, if he had a real bad episode, I'd take him to the emergency vet to get the injection version and some fluids and it always works to help him along.

I'm calling his vet to leave a message with the dr to see what they suggest we can do. He just seems uncomfortable some days. Like when he lays down to sleep, lately, he won't put his head down to sleep. He holds it up and just closes his eyes and will do it for a long time. I can't tell if that is a bad sign or not and internet searches don't really say anything on it. Anyone else have a kitty who has done that?

Honestly, I'm getting scared it is starting to get worse. I kind of knew it would as he kept on getting older. I lost my Girl Cat last year at 17 years old so I'm even extra anxious about this whole situation now that he is almost that age. I know I'm preaching to the choir, but making sure a senior cat is comfortable is so tough. It's been a worrying and exhausting weekend.

Thanks for reading. I just wanted to see if the sleeping with the head up should be an additional concern that I should mention?

LTS3

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise