Are they fighting or just playing

west123

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
hi im new in this site , and id like to get some help from you. my two cats are always running after each other and sometimes jump on each other and bite , i have a female turkish angora she is quiet stronger than the male cat that i had 5 month ago ( he is a main coon) and i think he is 11 month old right now , i think he is trying to mate with here but it never works ( we brought 2 cats before him to mate with her but also didnt work the male arent beating her she is too aggressive). i know some of you would advice me to sterilize her but i dont want i like my cat a lot and i dont want her to get sterilized . Plz give an advice to stop the fighting thing. :) sorry for my bad grammar im not really good at english.

rad65

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I know you said you don't want to sterilize her, but keeping an intact female in the same house as an unneutered tomcat will result in lots of fights, especially if the female refuses to be bred. One cat trying to mate with another and being met with resistance is going to look like a cat fight, because it basically is.

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
I agree with Rad.  Besides, it is quite stressing on them both!

If you do REALLY want to have a litter, and know you have good places for the kittens etc, etc,

fine, go ahead.  Plan on it.

But to just keeping your cats fertile, because you dont want to spay/neuter - not the best.

Said this, some cats do manage to be fertile without feeling badly, spraying, getting neurotic or anything. Surely this happens once in a while.  But while have this burden on them?  It is much easier for EVERYBODY if they are S/N.

Believe me, they will appreciate to be neutered. I know, I had tried both variations.

And to your question:  I dont think they fight for real - you would know for sure if they fought for real.