Any Artists Here?

MoochNNoodles

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I'm going over a DVD based art program I picked up for my kids to do this year. It looks pretty fun! I think I'm going to do some of the projects along with my kids. :anticipation:

I don't really consider myself truly artistic; as in I'm not really good at drawing. But in college I took some classes that we painted in and they were SO fun! I liked Art History too. (They didn't make us memorize dates and things. ;))

So right now I'm going over the supply list and trying not to :fear: when it lists individual tubes of watercolors and things like that. I'm talking about a 7 and 9 year old have access to these things!! I probably had most of them during college but I don't know where they are and it's been at least 15 years sooo... yeah they probably aren't good. So :fear: but at the same time :anticipation:.

I decided to start with the First Grade video even though my kids are older because of how she introduces concepts and methods. I think we can do about 1 1/3 levels per year. So eventually we will catch up. But I think it's more important that they learn that art is fun and such a great way to express yourself. It's more than just drawing or painting. I was intimidated in college finding out we were going to be painting all semester! I had no real experience beyond crayola water colors in a tray and craft projects with acrylics. But I found painting became soothing. I'm going to be the kind of old lady who takes art classes for fun and doesn't care what critics say. It's about the process.

We get to work with scupley at some point too. I heard one level she teaches about the Sistine Chapel and has you tape paper under a table top to experience painting on a ceiling. That sounds SO fun! But I better invest in a drop cloth too. :lol:

So anyone here artistic? Any advice on teaching or guiding kids? On buying supplies even?