Anaphylactic shock and death from tapeworm injection?

Jrkd

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My daughter brought a cat home that had a tapeworm infection. I already had 3 cats and the vet recommended treating them all with a tapeworm injection - I was allowed to do this myself because I am a nurse.

The other cats were fine after the injection but my 8 month old kitten Harry had a reaction immediately. He couldn't walk and lost control of his bowels - it was obvious that he was having trouble breathing so I tried to give him CPR style rescue breaths which didn't help and he died within minutes after the injection. I can't find anything on the internet about a cat having such a fatal reaction and am absolutely heartbroken over this. Also strange is the fact that my lips and tongue started swelling immediately - my tongue was so swollen that I could barely talk. I took a few benadryl which helped somewhat and the swelling wasn't extending to my throat so I didn't go to the ER. That was last night - today the swelling is almost gone but I am very puzzled by the reaction I had??

People who don't love animals like I do can't understand why I am such a wreck over this but he was my kitten and I loved him - the fact that I caused it is unbearable. I wouldn't wish this experience on anyone but I am completely baffled as the other cats are just fine. Any info/ideas about what could have happened would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Jrkd

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise