Allergic reaction

nurseangel

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I took my cat (Speck) to the vet today for a rash on his face and neck which was diagnosised as dermatitis with a secondary staph infection. The vet asked me several questions such if I'd owned Speck last spring (I adopted him from the animal shelter last summer), if he goes outside (he doesn't), and if I have any sort of a rash or itching (my hands only itch because I wash them frequently...I am a jail nurse and do treat a lot of MRSA, boils, etc.) The only recent changes I've made were switching brands of cat food from Fancy Feast to Sheba. I also buy different types of litter...usually it's the cheap kind. I was wondering if anyone knows some common causes of allergies in cats? I feel terrible that this has happened to him and would like to prevent outbreaks in the future. I won't be online for a bit but will be checking back for responses to this post late tonight. Thanks so much in advance to anyone who can provide insight.

judi

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I wish I could help you.
Why not speak to your Internest about it?
Good luck.

mews2much

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
My Coco is Allergic to any Fish or Seafoods,Dust, Mold,Pollen and alot more. Those foods your Cat is eating would make her get Hives and Rashes all over.

pookie-poo

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise