Adjustment Period For My Cats

Ohhmichasia

The feline freak
Kitten
Purraise
Hey there!
I’m new to this, and am looking for some advice on my cats and their behaviors...or should I say one of my cats and her behavior, specifically.

About a week ago I adopted a 4 month old kitten and introduced her to my three adult cats I already have at home. All of them are girls, including the kitten. My adults are spayed. Two of them are four years old and the third cat is 18 months. Now the two older girls have accepted the four month old, reluctantly but quickly. My 18 month old, on the other hand, has changed a bit.

She used to be extremely playful and energetic, terrorizing my two older cats. She would be vocal and sassy, she would always come up to me every night and sleep in the chair next to my bed. Now she stays isolated, sleeps more, cries when you touch her, almost like she has a headache. She isn’t as playful and her activity level overall has dropped. She still eats and drinks water, and uses the washroom, so I’m thinking this is something behavioral.

She does become upset when the four month old approaches her but tolerates it, even deals with the kitten jumping all over her. But she just isn’t her crazy, rambunctious self, and does like to hide much more to avoid the kitten.

I’m assuming this is about the newcomer, and if so, is there any way to help my third cat feel less threatened? Is this something someone has ever experienced? It’s as if she’s lost all spirit, and it makes me sad and concerned. If this sound like a medical problem, should I be concerned and get her checked out right away?

Someone please help!

verna davies

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Hi and welcome to the site. There are a threads here that will offer help and advice with your issues, have a look around.