Acclimating A Stray

Jessrenee

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
So this is my first time posting in a forum like this. In fact, I stumbled across this website when I was looking for tips on acclimating cats, specifically acclimating a stray to a home with one cat and two dogs.

So here goes (I’ll try to make it short and sweet):

Coworkers of mine discovered a friendly cat last week. She was extremely emaciated, but also extremely friendly and requires minimal coaxing. Friday we took her to a vet to discover she is around 4 and already fixed, with negative body fat.
We kept her in the store and fed her and gave her a litter box.

I decided to take her home on Sunday, but was worried about Aurora, my cat at home. While aurora has been around her brother, she has not been around any other cats, and I was afraid of how she would react.

I brought her home Sunday and put the two cats in the bathroom together because I had not known how to introduce the two as I never had to do so before (I thought it was like dogs). The stray hissed and growled at aurora. Of course, aurora seemed more curious than anything.

I then read tips and watched the Jackson Galaxy video (not sure if that’s his name), and immediately made an area for the stray. I closed off my walk in closet for her and let aurora have the run of the house.

She slept for most of the duration of Sunday and Monday. On Monday, I did as I saw from the video and fed the two of them on either side of the barrier. The barrier had about an inch of a gap from the carpet (a normal amount of space a door would have). The two were poking paws underneath without incident. It wasn’t until the stray, whom we named raja, looked under and saw that it was another cat. She lunged at the barrier and scared off aurora. I believe I instinctively tried to hold her, which I received several deep bites and scratches (which are being treated with antibiotics currently). She stayed in attack mode for about 30 minutes.