7 week old kitten? please help 🙏🙏

sleepyvel

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
A couple days ago I adopted a 7 week old kitten. He’s settled in really nice to the family and plays, eats, drinks, and poops in his box. I am a student so I am not able to be around him all the time but when i’m not my family plays with him and keeps him company. I am working on training him to not bite or scratch but I have growing nervousness that i’m not doing enough. I feel horrible for adopting him too young and i’m worried about him becoming aggressive or destructive. Does anyone have any tips for how to properly socialize him to make sure he grows up to be well tempered and happy. Thank you so much !

A picture of him is attached to this post
F7CBCD36-74E7-43AA-83C9-8BE3D27C6A9F.jpeg

maggie101

3 cats
Top Cat
Purraise
I assume your family no no to play with their hands and not yell. Do you mean husband and kids? How old? How much time does he get to socialize with people? What do you have for him to play with? 7 weeks is very young.

maggie101

3 cats
Top Cat
Purraise
Is adopting a second cat an option? At that young they are just learning how to be a cat. Without another cat to show them cats can miss out on learning manners and bite inhibition.
That is an excellent idea! My cat peaches was found in a hole 5 weeks old,now 9. Biting has always been a problem but has gotten better in her old age. She had my 13 yr old cat take care of her. Another kitten would be great. Also for having a playmate

Also my cat Maggie grew up with 3 stray siblings. I rescued her 3 months old,now 8.my most well behaved cat

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter

sleepyvel

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I assume your family no no to play with their hands and not yell. Do you mean husband and kids? How old? How much time does he get to socialize with people? What do you have for him to play with? 7 weeks is very young.