2 week old kitten not latching

Umerwhat

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
We're fostering a mother cat with 4 kittens. Unfortunatelty, I'm new to taking care of kittens. This kitten was the second smallest and for the past few days he has been gaining little or losing. He has now become the runt.

Day 10 - 249g
Day11 - 251g
Day 12 - 257g
Day 13 - 252g

This morning he rose up to 256g after numerous attempts to get him to latch to his mom. Just now he weighed only 250g. We're starting to try syringe feeding him, but he's not really cooperating. Though to be honest we're still trying to learn how to feed him properly. Would he be better with a bottle instead of a syringe? When we try, he does lick up the formula, but mews abnormally loud. Is that telling us to stop or that he's really hungry and we're not giving him enough?

I don't see any sign of infection on him. He's very active, but keeps going off to sleep on his own. He also does seem to roll around on his back sometimes, but I think he's playing? One of his siblings is also 90g heavier, so it's not surprising if he gets pushed off easily. Though not like he's latching well to begin with.

Any advice would be appreciated.

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hopefully, one of our members who is more familiar with kitten care than I am will come along soon and give some tips/help. I do know in reading past posts, a lot of times the 'runt' kitten is placed with mama when the other kittens are taking a break/napping, to help avoid the 'competition'. So, you could try that and see if that can help any. I am also providing a link to a web site about feeding kittens - maybe that will help some too.
Kitten Care - View All — Kitten Lady

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Umerwhat

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise