post #1 of 1
Thread Starter 
From PetSmart Charities:

We have some exciting webinars coming up in January!! Listed below
are the details regarding the January sessions. Remember that the
sessions fill up quickly, so you will want to register soon at
http://petsmartcharities.webex.com. Each session will be offered two
times to give more people an opportunity to attend.

Grantwriting for TNR Programs, Presented by Kit Jenkins, Grants
Manager, PetSmart Charities
Monday, January 9, 2006
1st session: 8:30-10:00 pacific, 9:30-11:00 mountain, 10:30-12:00
central,11:30-1:00 eastern
2nd session: 12:30-2:00 pacific, 1:30-3:00 mountain, 2:30-4:00
central, 3:30-5:00 eastern
"So you want to apply for grant funding buy you don't have a clue
about how to start? This workshop includes tips and instructions
about general grantwriting for TNR programs (no matter who you're
asking) and lots of specific information about what PetSmart
Charities looks for in TNR proposals submitted for our grant funding.
Also included are some tips about addressing the unique challenges of
grantwriting for TNR and creative ideas about who to approach."

How to Persuade Municipal Officials to Go with TNR, Presented by
Bryan Kortis, Executive Director, Neighborhood Cats
Wednesday, January 11, 2006
1st session: 8:30-10:00 pacific, 9:30-11:00 mountain, 10:30-12:00
central, 11:30-1:00 eastern
2nd session: 12:30-2:00 pacific, 1:30-3:00 mountain, 2:30-4:00
central, 3:30-5:00 eastern
"Using Trap-Neuter-Return to work with feral cats on a community-wide
basis impacts on a number of municipal concerns, including public
health, animal control, wildlife, use of public property and quality
of life issues. As a result, to effectively and legally practice TNR
on a large scale, the approval and support of the local government is
essential. This webinar will focus on practical techniques for
persuading municipal officials to implement TNR programs. Topics
covered will include evaluating local laws in order to determine
precisely what kind of action you'll need municipal officials to take
on your behalf, the infrastructure you should have in place before
approaching officials, the data you'll need to build your case, what
lines of arguments are effective and which are not, how to counter
calls for feeding bans or trap and remove efforts, and how to respond
to common questions from officials about liability, public health and
wildlife."

Feral Cats and Trap, Neuter and Return: What Recent Science
Demonstrates, Presented by Dr. Margaret Slater, Professor of
Epidemiology, Department of Veterinary Medicine Texas A &M University
Wednesday, January 25, 2006
1st session: 8:30-9:30 pacific, 9:30-10:30 mountain, 10:30-11:30
central, 11:30-12:30 eastern
2nd session: 12:30-1:30 pacific, 1:30-2:30 mountain, 2:30-3:30
central, 3:30-4:30 eastern
"Management of feral cats by trap, neuter and return (TNR) is still
very controversial in some areas. There have been a number of
recently published studies on TNR and issues related to wildlife and
public health. Drawing from these articles, I will present the
highlights of what is working and why, the validity of various claims
for and against TNR and how this might affect your program, shelter
or community. Topics such as wildlife and cats, rabies and cats and
statistical models of cat population control will be included."