Would you give a baby gift in this situation?

wannahelp

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I've been debating with my mom and brother over this.  My mother has medical problems and cannot go out to a salon.  One of my brother's friends' former girlfriends, is a hairdresser by trade.  She comes to the house to cut my mother's hair and color it, etc.  She has done this for many years but also has other clients she cuts at their residences.  She is, of course, paid for her services.

She and my mother talk and I might call them acquaintances.  However,I don't think my mother was invited to a baby shower.  My mother and brother think it appropriate to give a gift anyway.  They feel that $100 is proper.  However, I feel, given that, she is an acquaintance at best, and a hairdresser being paid for her services, first and foremost, that $100 is not only excessive but unnecessary.  I don't know if regional differences may influence this but we are in the Mid-Atlantic area.  I would give a card and perhaps, a gift card but I've never really encountered this situation, so I'm not sure.

I'd like some objective input.  

handsome kitty

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I think a card and a small gift would be enough.   I wouldn't give $100 for a baby shower gift unless it was one of my kids having the baby.

Kat0121

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I've been debating with my mom and brother over this.  My mother has medical problems and cannot go out to a salon.  One of my brother's friends' former girlfriends, is a hairdresser by trade.  She comes to the house to cut my mother's hair and color it, etc.  She has done this for many years but also has other clients she cuts at their residences.  She is, of course, paid for her services.