When is the right time?

Richard Gee

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I'll start with a thank you to the regular posters on here. I've been visiting this site for five years or so getting info on how to help out the many abandoned kittens that we encounter here in Thailand. I'm originally from the U.K by the way.
Due to the language barrier and the cultural differences I find myself needing to post for the first time to ask a question, when should be a suitable time to say goodbye to our 9 year old Tabby, Thanwah?
About two months ago we noticed she did sometimes vomit. This normally happened after eating in the morning and running around in the garden after being let out of the house. She's quite a big girl, 7kg or so and loves her food. We thought that eating well like she did along with exercise playing with our other three cats were causing this.
About a week ago she didn't seem herself and was hiding. We took her to a vet who sent us to another larger vet located at the veterinary teaching dept and the local university.
Some tests and scans revealed a tumor in her stomach along with some tartar issues on her teeth. Over the last three or four days she hasn't been eating and we've been feeding her goats milk with a syringe. She will drink water but not an amount comparable with the healthy cats. She has probably lost about a kilo in weight but is now similar sized to our other cats,
The vet made it known that there was the option of treatment with no guarantees of positive outcomes or if we decide to there is is option of euthanasia. From what I gathered from my wife it seems the vet was indicating we should probably prepare to do the latter.
We've had loads of cats down the years, there is quite a problem with strays here in Thailand and there are more animals than folks willing to take them in. We always have 4 or 5 cats around which we care for and some have passed on naturally but we've never been in this position before where we are at a crossroads.