What would you do?

Mountainash

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello, I'm a newbie on this site!
I have a pressing specific problem which is causing significant stress. 😳
I was supposed to go away with my family yesterday for a weeks uk break. My first holiday in a year! I have a very good cattery who usually take my two cats, Molly and Henry. But Henry's had a health flare up last week which meant I've had to stay home, whilst everyone else went away!

Henry has had ongoing anxiety issues following anal sac removal 6 years ago, when he was a year old. It's been well controlled with Gabapentin but when he gets frustrated or anxious his bottom muscles spasms and he yelps or growls in discomfort. As I said, it is generally well controlled now, but last Sunday something triggered him off into an episode. It was distressing. I took him to the vets on Tuesday and they did not find anything sinister but gave me an antiflammatory and a herbal calming tablet to take alongside the Gabapentin. The vets visit was, in itself very traumatic for both him and me. I have the scratches to prove it!

Since then I've been wracked with worry about him. I also have bad anxiety myself! He has however, been improving thr last 48 hours and this morning seems a lot more like himself. My question is do I perhaps bite the bullet and put him and Molly in the cattery on Monday, so I can join my family for the final four days of the trip or should I stay home with him? I feel so torn and anxious. The cattery lady, BTW, is very understanding and attentive, completely aware of Henry's situation and willing to look after him and Molly.

Any advice would be useful. I am feeling quite anxious and overtired so be kind!!! 🐈

verna davies

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise