What color kittens can my cat have?

AlaskaPets

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My cat is 7 weeks pregnant, and I wanted to know if it is possible to tell what color kittens she will have?
Here is a picture of her.
unnamed (22).jpg

And the dad could be our orange tabby with white socks and mouth or our solid black cat or both.
We didn't purposefully breed her it was an accident, we had an appointment already set up but it, unfortunately, got canceled.

ColoradoCat

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
She's gorgeous! I'm by no means an expert in this stuff, but her boys will probably black/and white or orange/and white and her girls could be either of those (unlikely they'd be orange as orange cats tend to be boys for some reason) or calicos/torties like her. The interesting thing about cats is that coat color is actually a sex-linked gene, appearing on the X chromosome. Because of this, boys can only have one color and girls can have two. The white is a "masking gene" of sorts that hides the true color of the coat (so a black and white cat is genetically black). There's a whole lot more to it than just that and someone else may be able to answer in greater detail than I.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

AlaskaPets

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
She's gorgeous! I'm by no means an expert in this stuff, but her boys will probably black/and white or orange/and white and her girls could be either of those (unlikely they'd be orange as orange cats tend to be boys for some reason) or calicos/torties like her. The interesting thing about cats is that coat color is actually a sex-linked gene, appearing on the X chromosome. Because of this, boys can only have one color and girls can have two. The white is a "masking gene" of sorts that hides the true color of the coat (so a black and white cat is genetically black). There's a whole lot more to it than just that and someone else may be able to answer in greater detail than I.
Wow, I didn't know that! I'm kinda hoping for a calico lol.