Toxicity of coffee?

cmshap

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I drink a ton of coffee, and I've been leaving cups out around Willy for 9 years as I drink it. I've seen him sniff in my mug a few times, then move on with complete disinterest. The vast majority of the time, he completely ignores it.

I came out of the bathroom this morning to find him lapping away in my coffee mug. I took it away quickly, so I don't think he drank much, but I wasn't entirely sure how much exactly.

I didn't think much of it at the time, but a few hours later it dawned on me that I have no idea how a cat reacts to coffee. I Googled it, and got a plethora of frightening results about caffeine being extremely toxic, and that you should call a poison control number immediately if you see your cat ingest it.

Given that this was hours later, I decided to just keep an eye on him, as I was home all day. He's been eating/drinking/grooming/zooming/peeing/pooping normally, and as I write this, it is now over 12 hours later, so I am letting it go.

But I was alarmed for a moment, and definitely am not leaving coffee out anymore.

Felinian

Owned by this wonderful cat!
Kitten
Purraise
My Tonk has taken slurps of my coffee all his life (and I drink very strong café au lait), He had just a little each time, and certainly without my permission. I also often caught him dipping his paw into my coffee mug and licking the coffee off his paw. As if his cat spit wasn't enough, his dirty cat paw certainly ruined the whole cup of coffee for me. Plus, when I shooed him off, he shook whatever remaining coffee off his paw, making a big wet mess. Yeah, I yelled, but he was infuriatingly nonchalant (ever the cool CAT), and I'd always catch him doing it again at some future time.