Thirty-three Posts Already, and I Didn't Introduce Myself!

czygyny

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Never let it be said that I do things in proper order!

I am a 58ish-something silver-haired tomboyish artist/gardener/photographer/animal lover who is in the midst of some trying times of life. Many family and beloved pet deaths and life changes have occurred in the past couple of years, but I find great strength in my trust in a Higher Power. 

I came here in my quest to learn how to raise my newest member of my feline family, Mooni, who is a replacement for my recently lost Tippi, who was the replacement for my not-as-recently-lost Lilo. I was at a loss to handle a very aggressive, but tiny kitten. Handling her was like holding on to the wrong end of a chainsaw.

Since I remembered a rescue kitten decades ago, that was of similar trouble, and who eventually was euthanized for health reasons and unmanagability, I didn't want to end up with another insane pet. Both were very tiny and in shelters, both were unsocialized, both were ill when they came home.

I have learned a lot about the problem and can testify that little miss Mooni aka the chainsaw, is developing into a very active, very inquisitive and very intelligent *and* pettable kitten! She will never be the cuddle-bug some of my other cats were, but I've had so much fun playing hide-and-stalk, chase-around, teaching her how to climb trees and explore the gardens. She must taste every thing that I am eating and investigate everything I do. I just got done trying to fold clothes with a little orange kitten in my basket.

I have five acres of good bottom-land and in times of good rainfall (California and bone dry drought at the moment) I have a steer or two. I have a knack for landscaping and have created a beautiful yard for kittens to destroy