Swelling between my cat’s left paw + wound

CasperTheKitten

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi,

This is my first time posting here in years but I thought getting advice from others would be best to see if anyone else has had this issue. I’m not sure if pictures are visible at the top or bottom but just a warning for a slightly mangled looking paw towards the bottom.

My cat is called Casper and is 3 years old. Last week I noticed one of his toes was swollen on his left foot/paw and he was limping. We waited a day to see if it was just a sprain or he had been too active as he loves staying outdoors for most of the day. However, the next day we noticed a lump/swollen area of his paw which was causing one of his nails to move position slightly and was probably what was causing the swelling. I wasn’t sure how this swollen tissue/lump had occurred but I assumed he must have caught himself on something outside. The next day, whilst we were applying vetericym anti microbial spray (we were applying it from the first day), Casper wriggled around a lot and must have knocked/out pressure on his paw and blood started dripping out of his paw which was of course very worrying. However, upon closer inspection it seemed that the part of his foot that was swollen had burst?

We took him to the vets on the following Monday to see if after it had burst, if it would dry up and get better. It did seem to be getting better and the swelling has gone down, despite not all of it reducing. The vets gave him some antibacterial hibiscrub to apply twice a day for 5 days and a bust collar which they assured would be big enough to prevent him from licking, however unfortunately it is not effective so I’ve got to stop him every few minutes TT