Spaying Today- Recovery?

marmoset

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I'm spaying an unhandleable semi-feral that had a litter of kittens. The kittens are 15 weeks old and have been sharing the same room as the mother. All seems well. They still try to nurse but she's clearly had it and kicks them off 98% of the time.

Last night I had to cage the mother separate from the kittens and everyone went crazy. Mother was crying all night (louder than I've ever heard her as she was silent for the first two months) and the kittens were trying to get in to be with the mother.

So momma cat is getting spayed today. Based on past experience with spaying hard to handle females the vet will return the cat before it is fully out of the fog of anesthesia so I can safely transfer the cat to the recovery area by putting the carrier into a larger enclosure and opening the door allowing the cat to venture out when she's got her legs back so to speak.

What I have no experience with is having a cat in recovery with kittens. I will certainly keep her enclosed and separated from the kittens until she's walking normally and fully awake but I worry that even after that if the kittens want to interact with her she will become stressed. On the other hand she is distressed if she's away from the kittens and they are the same. How long should I keep them separated? I'm hoping others that have had mothers spayed while they still had kittens around can give me some advice.

jcat

Mo(w)gli's can opener
Veteran
Purraise
Yes, your vet should be able to advise you.