Sky's Story: A Canine Baby Brother to Three Cats

lykakitty

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I talk about my 3 girls, my cats, all the time on this site and I thought Sky needed some lovin' too. After all, it can't be easy being a canine baby brother to 3 cats.

Sky's Story

As I'm studying to be a dog trainer, meaning I've been studying positive reinforcement training methods as well as canine behavior and psychology in preparation for beginning training for my certification, I figured that I needed a dog of my own to work with. After all, what client would rely on a trainer who's never trained her own dog, right? After looking at various shelter websites I came across this picture from a no-kill shelter one town over and fell in love:

There was very little information about him available on the site--all I knew was that he was an 8-month-old male Australian Shepherd mix who was neutered and available for adoption. I'd always loved Australian Shepherds and wanted one, and I thought he was the perfect age to adopt--not a little puppy who'd get a home easy but still young, at that "teenage puppy" age that most potential adopters seem to shy away from. A few afternoons later, after stalking the website to make sure he wasn't snatched up before I got the chance, I went to go see him. This is what awaited me in the shelter's kennel room: