I'm new to this page:)

I really want to start a cattery.
My reasons are:
- I love cats
- Siberian cats are a healthy breed
- knowledge of the breed
- marked for the breed
- I know I will give them a happy home with follow ups

Like I've said, a want to start a cattery. I only want one breeding female to start with.

My question is: how do I start?

Can anyone go to the process with me?

Oh I forgot to tell that I've already have to female sibs and one that is decreased:(

cmshap

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I don't know anything about breeding, the ethics thereof, etc., but I just wanted to say that my mom was able to become a cat owner by adopting a Siberian from a Siberian breeder.

She would have adopted a rescue from a shelter, but she is allergic to most cats (sometimes quite severely). She read that Siberians can be hypoallergenic, and found a breeder who was able to allow her to visit the cattery multiple times and see how she did. Fast-forward years later, my mom is a happy owner of a Siberian female, who adds a lot to her life.

sivyaleah

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Beginning breeding is not for the feint of heart.

Things to consider/know/keep in mind, this is paraphrased from elsewhere but all good info/advice. I'm sure I've missed some.

1. DNA testing for both parents , HCM screening prior to breeding for both parents as well as a PKD ultrasound. Echos prior to a year, and those who aren't performed by a board certified cardiologist, are a waste of time.