Seeking Advice for Chronic Idiopathic Cystitis

TortieCat94

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
This is my first time posting here. My ongoing saga is that I have a 4 year old female cat (tortoiseshell) that has been struggling with chronic idiopathic cystitis for 3 months straight (I believe she’s had mild symptoms for the past year or 2, but they never progressed to painful attack/blood until these past 3 months). I’m just looking for any advice and experience from other people who have dealt with this as I’m running out of ideas.

Background:
-I live in a 1,000 sq foot apartment with her and another young male cat who I’ve raised since a kitten, I have 2 litter boxes with 2 different types of litter, 2 cat trees, 2 auto-feeders, a fountain and water dishes all over my apartment.
-She has been eating prescription dry food for 2 months (Hills multi-care stress) and gets half a can of urinary care wet food plus supplemented broth
-She is a nervous / high anxiety cat that hates new people, strange noises etc. she has never grown out of this anxiety
- She is 14 lbs but ideally should be 11 lbs. I’m trying to work on this without adding more stress to her life
- My young male cat is a bully towards her but she doesn’t hide from him. They both coexist in the apartment and I do my absolute best to try to give them equal attention and love. I am able to leave them alone for 8 hour work days and they don’t hurt each other. He is the main cause of her stress.

Treatment and Changes I’ve already made:

- She received a full set of tests last month at the vet, and they determined there was no bacterial infection in the urine and no crystals, they took and x-ray and saw no stones in the bladder so the vet determined it is idiopathic
- I have 2 feliway plug-ins going in the main areas of my apartment
- I supplement her wet food with extra broth and water