Rescued Bottle Babies, Blindness & Uri

Leha

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Good afternoon everyone, I am at my wits end, so I've come to you for some possible guidance. My first thing is.. please don't bash the rescue I work with. We're overwhelmed with bottle babies this year and I know this is mostly stress on the owners behalf.

Some background on me, I've been doing rescue for 20 years. About 10 years ago, I was dubbed the kitten whisperer, because they would send me babies that had little to no chance of survival and I would save most of them.

This time around, I received three ~8 day old kittens that had URI's. I did everything I could for them, and still lost one. I did a 10 day clavamox treatment which has cleared up the URI, save for the occasional sneeze. However, at 13 days old, I noticed that the runt (a beautiful little tortie) wasn't opening one of her eyes. I hadn't really noticed due to her coloring. I immediately cleaned her eye and kept on it, then contacted my rescue about possibly going to the vet. I was told to just be vigilant with the cleaning. When puss began to come out, I contacted her again and she told me she would get me some neomycin and gentamicin to treat with. This helped, but you could see the huge cataract on her eye. Then, the other eye started. So I began treating both. In the meantime, she was eating, but not enough to make me happy. She grew, but remained within .2ozs of her original weight. (6.5oz)

Her brother, a big old orange tabby was doing great! Fluffy ball of vibrant energy and gaining weight at the perfect rate. Then one morning both of his eyes were crusted shut and my heart flopped. I immediately began treating his eyes and washing them regularly. Again I asked to let me take them to the vet, again I wasn't answered, but told that there's kittens at her house with the same thing. I got the hidden "no" from that text.