Rapid Respiration In Kitten

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmolCreeperCat

Cat Herder
Kitten
Purraise
Hey everyone! I'm new hear but I work at an animal shelter and I've been fostering neonates for about two years now. Each kitten always seems to have its own unique issues and now I have one I've not experienced before. His breathing is very fast while resting - around 90 BPM. He weighs in at about 85 grams (he's a week old and was 68g when I got him) and eats, pees, poops normally. His eyes just opened fully and he's a very energetic guy, but he just has this fast breathing. I'll have my staff vet check him out on Wednesday in case it's an aspiration issue, but just wondering if any of you have noticed something like this in your own babycat journeys.

Also, any tips to help him eat better? I'm still using a 3ml syringe because he tends to eat way too fast with a bottle and nipple. Most of the day and night he'll eat 1-2 ml per feeding then eat close to 9 ml at one feeding randomly. From what I know he should be eating 24 ml a day (so about 2-3 per feeding if it's 2-3 hours).

Thanks, and I look forward to hopefully helping out and sharing my experiences with you all!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

SmolCreeperCat

Cat Herder
Kitten
Purraise
Also I forgot to mention he was obviously very small when he was born, so I'm wondering if the fast breathing might be his lungs still developing. We're assuming he was the runt and maybe mama left him behind.

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
this breathing he had it always?

Anyway, whatever it is. As he is energetic and develops fairly normally, I do dearly hope this breathing is inside the normale.

Kittens with say, weak heart arent energetic.

You say he added from 68 to present 85. In how many days? Ie how long did you had him?

SmolCreeperCat

Cat Herder
Kitten
Purraise