Question Of The Day, Wednesday, July 31, 2019

DreamerRose

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
When my son was a junior in high school, I was talking with his English teacher. She told me that the rules for commas have changed and that she is to teach the limited comma rule.
She learned from one of those other manuals. And I majored in English, was invited to enter the graduate English program, and took a post graduate course in copy editing. Your English teacher probably did none of those things.

Last edited:

DreamerRose

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Am I allowed to mention some confusing things about American English? I really don't get 'off of' (can anyone explain that?) and I've noticed a lot of people say 'I could care less' which is the opposite of the actual saying 'I couldn't care less'. Also, when I started here I couldn't work out why all these people shared rooms with their friends and their cats and heaven knows what else until I realised they were talking about what we call 'housemates'. :lol:
That's just American sloppiness. I've corrected those many times while editing. Another is "off-load." What's wrong with "unload"?

kashmir64

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
She learned from one of those other manuals. And I majored in English, was invited to enter the graduate English program, and took a post graduate course in copy editing. Your English teacher probably did none of those things.
No, don't get me wrong, I'm not arguing with you. I'm just saying that this is what the school board has decided and she was told to do. She didn't agree with it, but if the school board says 'this is what you are teaching', then that's what the schools are teaching.

Norachan

Staff Member
Purraise
Why are shops either open or closed? Why not opened or closed? Or open or close?

Why do we sometimes say Life on Earth but not Life on The Earth? But we say Save The Earth?

neely

May the purr be with you
Veteran
Purraise