Pregnant cats first litter

LunaSky221

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hey everyone,
My cat Luna is pregnant, first litter, and yes I plan to get her fixed after this. I have a few questions regarding her pregnancy. I’m new at the cat pregnancy thing. I’m not sure how far along she is but I can see and feel the kittens move. Also she’s recently been favoring laying flat on her back, I’m not sure if this is normal as I can’t find anything online about it. She’s still eating but very little at a time and longer stretches during the day. I’ve noticed her thirst has increased a lot too. Given the kittens moving, how long can I estimate to see kittens?

Finka

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
If the kittens are moving, it may not too long till the birth time. I've been experienced with many pregnant stray cat momma before. It may less than 2 weeks, make sure to stay with her while she seems about to give a birth. Cause the first pregnancy may a bit hard for her, especially if she's under 1 years old. I remember when the young stray cat gave a birth (My family like to share some foods for stray cat around my home, so we have cat visitor very often), and she just confused what to do and follow me around. She won't stay still and I had to stay beside her with latex glove and wet cotton fabric to wipe the kitten, cause the momma won't clean the kitten from the slimy things, I don't know what it's called :p

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Yes, as said above, it at most 2 weeks left. She will probably "drop" shortly before the delivery, ie suddenly appear less obvious pregnant. Most cats do so one or two days before delivery...
Yes, its common they try to relieve themselves by lying on the back.

If she wants and allows belly rubs, do so, its a nice massage.

And read on and prepare as well you can!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

LunaSky221

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise