Newly spayed cat

Brettb1028

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I am very new to owning a cat and had dogs growing up but wouldn’t give up my sweet girl for anything.
I just brought her home from getting spayed and she is hiding and doesn’t want to eat or come near me and cowers if I go near her. I don’t know if that’s a part of the anesthesia wearing off? And her cone seems to be getting in the way of everything, she can’t get to her food or water. I was told that she will figure it out and to just give her time but also don't want her to starve or get dehydrated. Maybe I’m just worrying to much?
IMG_0298.jpeg

heatherwillard0614

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Brettb1028 Brettb1028 What kind of food and water bowls do you have for her. I recently had my girl spayed and she had a cone that was big for her because she was folding in half like a lawnchair and the cone was scraping the edge of her incision so we got another one that longer.. her food and water bowls are separate and they are elevated. She was able to put the cone around the bowl and go down to the food and water.. the cone was almost touching the floor and the dishes were inside the cone if that makes sense...

Was your baby spayed yesterday and sent home today? Or was she spayed and sent home today?

As for how she is acting I have no advice on that aspect because my girl (Gabby) came home same day and was completely out of it she couldn't even stand up without falling over until the next day. Believe me that was scary I was bawling thinking something was terribly wrong... but she was just extremely drugged up.

That being said it can normal to be off of food for a little bit due to the anesthesia..

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Brettb1028

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Ok yes her bowls are elevated as you described and she was spayed today and brought home today

Brettb1028

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Maybe I’m just a worry wart lol. She’s just not herself lol but makes sense about the anesthesia