Newly Rescue Ferrel cat With FIV

Julie V

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
So, we’ve neutered and vaccinated a long haired white outdoor semi-ferrel cat who we’ve named Clyde. I had been feeding him outdoors and providing shelter for a couple months until one day he showed up with a nasty bleeding bite behind his ear. At that point he was still eating and getting around as normal, but he kept scratching open the bite. I knew he also was not neutered, so began feeding him inside a large pet carrier. After about 3 weeks and several failed attempts, I was able to close him in and get him to a vet. Unfortunately he tested positive for FIV (possibly from the recent bite). The vet insured me this is not a death sent an e and that he could still lead a normal length life with proper care and treatments if he ever seems ill. So, Clyde was Neutered, vaccinated (just in case he were to get back outside or I needed to just release him back outside), and given an antibiotic for the bite. He’s been home now and isolated from our 5 other rescue cats. He is in our walk out basement which is a finished basement much like an apartment. I provided him with a hiding spot in an enclosed room for the first few days. He still has the room to revert to, but I have since opened the door to allow him to explore at will. He doesn’t leave his “safe zone” hiding spot (really a blanket tented fort created under a table) while I’m in there with him, however I’m able to enter the fort with him, pet him, and he plays with me. He began using the litter box 4 days after being home from vet. Has been eating well and consistently using the litter box. He has even ventured out of his safe room when I’m not down there (I’ve left food out and it has been eaten).