New (possibly stray) cat. Trying to determine gender and neuter status.

rosie_kitty

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
We have a fair amount of strays (5+) in our neighborhood but this one is new. He is very friendly and extremely vocal. I gave him a few treats because he came up to my porch meowing. I am not sure if giving him treats was a good idea either as I used to be somewhat afraid of cats until we got Rosie in November. He might be someone's pet because he seems to be clean and has shiny fur.

IMG_20200611_202203.jpg
When I was out later, he came by again and I was able to get a pic of the, um, back end.
IMG_20200611_202155.jpg

I think from what I can tell it's a boy and probably neutered. But I am new to cats so not entirely sure.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

rosie_kitty

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
You are right. He’s a boy! And a handsome looking boy!
Are you able to tell if he's neutered?

And yes he is absolutely gorgeous. He has a stripe of thick and longer black fur on his back.
IMG_20200611_202131.jpg

jefferd18

Ms. Jeff's Legacy
Top Cat
Purraise
He looks like he is neutered but that does not necessarily mean he is somebody's cat. Jeff was spayed when I met her but she was also on her own. I would make some inquiries about him.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

rosie_kitty

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
He looks like he is neutered but that does not necessarily mean he is somebody's cat. Jeff was spayed when I met her but she was also on her own. I would make some inquiries about him.
That's a good point. I will see if my neighborhood has a NextDoor or something. Thanks everyone for the help!

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Yep, neutered male. Looks fairly young. Make sure he gets scanned for a microchip, animal control is notified, and you post him on all the lost pet sites before you give up on finding his home.

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
There is a picture of his back end :).