New Cat Meowing

Gntrombino

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all,

I had cats growing up my whole life and just adopted one of my own...so even though I am very familiar with cats and their care, this is my first time being directly responsible for one. My 6m old orange tabby came home on Tuesday and was immediately super comfortable and bonded with us ..but the last 2 days he will NOT STOP following me around and meowing. He is healthy, fed, clean litter box, toys, etc...but he is driving me insane. He will not leave my side and he just talks and talks and talks.. they aren't long howling meows but more like regular meows. Is it likely he is just getting adjusted and this will stop??

ArtNJ

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I know he is new to the house, but some cats adjust really quick, and his affection and following you around seems to indicate that he isn't stressed about coming to live with you. I mean, cats are all different, perhaps this is an unusual way of showing stress or looking for lost friends from whatever his prior situation was. Maybe? And some cats are more talkative than others, so maybe some of that too, but to me it sounds like he is bored, and if so, that isn't likely to resolve on its own. Fighting cat boredom is not really my area of knowledge, I cheat by letting my cats be indoor/outdoor, so I'll leave you to the experts. That said, the experts will want to know how much your playing with the cat and how, and what his history is. Was he an only pet? Did he grow up with kids in the house? What is your home situation now?

Good luck.

Last edited:

catlover73

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Have you tried to re-direct him with a toy when he starts meowing? If his prior living situation before you adopted him involved him having a companion he may be searching for his friend.