Neutered 2y old cat, which healthy not extremely expensive dry food would you recommend?(UK)

claudya_87

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi,

So as the title says, I’m looking into buying some dry food for my neutered cutie who became a little chunkier these days.

I’m no expert in cat food and most of the reviews I find are brands that I cannot buy in the UK or are extremely expensive.

Before I got my boy neutered, I used to give him Purina One & Applaws/ Scrumbles (after the recall) & Applaws/Thrive for wet food.

Now I’m clueless to choose what is best for him. For the past year I keep trying to find the perfect food which isn’t too expensive either. Most of them have wheat, corn and other ingredients which aren’t really recommended. I usually buy two types of dry food and some fish based wet food.

I have tried :

Almo Nature sterilised Salmon (dry)
Bozita sterilised chicken (dry)
CATZ Fine Food mixed trial (wet)
GranataPet Salmon&Turkey / Tuna&Duck (wet)
Almo Nature Tuna & Chicken (wet)

He’s currently eating/trying:

Bozita sterilised reindeer (dry)
Almo Nature Tuna / Chicken&Shrimp (wet)

I’ve also ordered 4kg of Wellness CORE Chicken & Turkey as it was on offer on Amazon. It will probably arrive later on today.

What do you guys feed your neutered cats?
1C8EE8BA-BF99-4435-A0FD-4BD648841E88.jpeg

Norachan

Staff Member
Purraise
Handsome boy!

If you're worried about weight gain I would suggest cutting out the dry altogether and just feeding him wet. Dry food tends to be high in carbs and cats don't need that. They're better off on a high protein diet. It's best not to feed exclusively fish based food, especially to male cats, as this can exacerbate urinary tract problems.

I'm not in the UK so I can't recommend any specific brands. Does he have any particular favourites?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

claudya_87

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thank for your reply.