Neighbor complaining about feral cats pooping in yard

dorisdvu

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have been feeding feral cats for several years.  I have attempted several times to catch the momma cat to have her spayed with no luck.  I was able to get her in a drop cage once but I could not get her to the smaller cage to transport her.  There are probably a total of 10 cats/kittens that I am feeding.  My neighbor has recently started complaining that the cats are pooping in her yard and flower bed.  She asked me to put out litter boxes for the cats to deter them from doing their business in her yard.  I did put 1 litter box out about 2 months ago and finally some have started using it.  She picks up the poop and puts it in a plastic bag and lays in by her garage, until trash day and she puts the bags in my trash can when the can is out by the street.  She suggested that I put several out and even a kid's pool filled with litter.  One problem is that i don't have enough "covered" space in my yard to put several litter boxes - much less a pool.  I'm not sure how I am supposed to control where the cats are using the bathroom.  I am working on getting the kittens spayed/neutered and an attempted on momma again, but that is not going to solve the bathroom issue.  Do you have any suggestions?  I thought about putting sand in an area of my flower bed to see if that will help, but I'm not sure how that will hold up in the "weather".  I'm not sure what they laws are in Louisville, KY.  Because I feed them, does it make me the "owner"?  Can she seek any legal action?

Norachan

Staff Member
Purraise
Hi @dorisdvu  Welcome to The Cat Site.

I used to have a similar problem with the feral colony I cared for. They've all been moved to an enclosed area now, so it's no longer an issue, but I can understand why your neighbours complain.