Need To Find A Home For This Guy - Denver Area

lab mom

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I am needing some help and I thought I would reach out on this site in case any one has any ideas or help:
I am needing to find a home for a Feral cat that I trapped. I live in the Denver area.
He was living outside my parents old vacant house, my mom would go there religiously everyday to feed this guy. We decided to trap him because it was so cold this winter and thought that maybe he was a stray. I trapped him on 1/2/18 and had him neutered and vaccinated 2 weeks later. He is felv/fiv negative.
So, I have been working with socializing him for the last 3 months. He is an incredibly shy cat, but very sweet in nature... but very scared. I have made some good gains with him, he loves to be petted with a toy stick, he likes to play and is playing more actively lately, he will roll onto his back and swat at toys. He lets me pet him but reluctantly. He is gaining a lot of my trust and is making gains every day. I am heart broken to have to find him a home, but I have a black lab that doesn't like cats and I think it would be too stressful for the both of them
He is a beautiful boy and I just want to find him a home. I have reached out to several rescue groups but no-one is able to help, especially because he is a feral. I don't have many options...most groups say a "barn-cat" but I don't want to do that. I think he will make a great house cat, he just needs to find the perfect home of love and patience. He will take a while to warm up but I really believe he could do good in a home. I am so worried about him because I know he is starting to really trust me, I am attached to him and have a lot of time invested in him too. I just hope to find a suitable home for him.
I could just put him back outside, but because we are selling this house soon, he will not have a food source.
This is just heart breaking.....Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

shadowsrescue

TCS Member
Veteran