Need help

amccurdy58

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Oct 2022, I trapped 2 feral kittens, approx 4 months old, had shots, and got fixed. I will be moving in June of 2023 and need help as to how I will move them. I cannot touch the female, she still hisses if I get too close. The male comes and snuggles but I am only beginning stages of picking him up, sometimes works sometimes doesn't. I cannot trap them again. It has taken me 7 months to get to this point. The female just began getting on the bed but stays at the end. I have been working on getting rid of the fleas, which is going well. I can put a topical on the male but not the female (I can't touch her). I am able to get both of them a pill by crushing it up and putting it in their food. I went to a Vet to inquire about getting something to put them to sleep but since he hasn't seen them, so he won't give me anything. I don't know what to do. I thought of researching something to make them sleep like liquid melatonin but I don't want to hurt them. If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated.

Norachan

Staff Member
Purraise
Hi A amccurdy58 Welcome to TCS. Thank you for taking such good care of these two.

It is possible to move them, even the feisty little girl. I moved house with a colony of 20+ semi feral cats. You just have to give yourself plenty of time. Will you be moving using your own car? I suggest you work out what size dog crate you can fit in your car/move with the help of a friend and work on getting them used to it.

Set it up in the room they usually hang out in. Wire the door open so they don't get trapped in there before you're ready to move. Cover the top with a blanket and put things that smell of the cats inside. Beds, cardboard scratchers, that kind of thing. You want them to think of the crate as a safe, fun place to hang out. You could put some extra yummy treats in there, or leave cat nip, valerian leaves, a tub of cat grass inside.