Need Advice Getting Kitten To Stop Suckling.

krazyjacky316

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have an 8 week old kitten lenna. I have had lenna since she was 3 days old. She was abandoned at birth by mom, so she started out dropper fed. I graduated her to a bottle with strict round the clock feedings and cleanings. She was doing phenomenal. At about 3 weeks old I had her at feedings every 4 hrs and i had to go out of state for my best friends wedding so i left her with a family member for the weekend. When i came back i knew something was wrong with poor lenna. She cryed at least every 30 mins, wouldnt latch onto the bottle, couldn't eat. I got her into the vet to find out the left side of her jaw was broken. After lots of love, care and force feedings lenna made a huge turn around in 2 weeks. The vet and staff were relieved as to as well as she is doing. BUT NOW she is 8 weeks old DOES NOT lick or lap anything but water. she is not on the bottle. she loves pate but she suckles onto the plate. Ive tried having her watch my other cats (no interest) KMR 2nd step, cuts with gravy (she sucks all the gravy) kitten chow with the KMR(NOPE) kitten chow mixen with the pate (sucks all the pate), ive even tried using smaller containers so she literally has to stick her tongue out to get it!!!!! nothing is working. any ideas??!

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
It sounds like something may still be wrong with her jaw. She may even be in pain. I suggest that you get her jaw x-rayed at the vet to see if her jaw is fully healed.

In the meantime, let her suckle the pate as she has been doing. It could simply be that she is not quite ready to wean yet. She's been through a rough experience and probably needs more time. If she had a mama cat she would still be nursing.

Although it's messy, she is at least getting the nutrition she needs right now.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

krazyjacky316

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise