my cat just gave birth

sorra5

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My cat gave birth to 5 kittens like 30 minutes ago I'm unsure of how I should help her and if I should because it's my first time. I havent been through anything like that before. It's her first time as well I don't know if she's confused because she isn't laying down for the kittens to start breast feeding. I'm making this thread for any help I don't want any kitten losing their life

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Has mama cat let the kittens nurse yet?

Put mama’s food and water and litter near the nest so she does not have far to go.

Plan to spay her in about 8 weeks and do not let her out in the meantime.

Mom cats do most of the work in the early weeks, but 5 kittens is a lot. Weigh them daily in grams and keep a log. You’ll probably have a runt or two that may need supplemental feeding with a syringe and kitten formula.

Do keep us posted!

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
My cat gave birth to 5 kittens like 30 minutes ago I'm unsure of how I should help her and if I should because it's my first time. I havent been through anything like that before. It's her first time as well I don't know if she's confused because she isn't laying down for the kittens to start breast feeding. I'm making this thread for any help I don't want any kitten losing their life
Do continue to give us reports, othewise we cant help any...

And giving reports may be a help for yourself... I for one, I often get new ideas and insights while Im writing about the problem.

Kwik

Animals are Blessings
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi S sorra5
I wanted to welcome you and to see how your Mama cat & kitties are doing so I sure do hope we hear back from you real soon -we are here for you

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

sorra5

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
S sorra5 How are things going?