Mom Cat Losing Appetite/throwing Up, Kittens With Fleas

Ofeld19

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello, I am new to this site but have been reading the threads frequently since I discovered my cat was pregnant. She was a stray kitten that I found last year. She is probably about a year old now. Found another stray and before I saved up the money to fix him he got her pregnant. I do understand that it is ideal to get all cats fixed, but I am a poor college student with a waitressing job and it takes me some time to save up. Both kittens were found outside wet in cold rains, so I tried to do what was right with the means I have. I do plan on getting her fixed as soon as it is safe. She had her kittens on August 8. I have never had a pregnant animal, so I read as much as I could to prepare myself for the birth,and possible complications. She is quite a petite cat, but delivered her litter of 5 beautifully, and everything seemed to be going well until maybe 3 or 4 days later. I found a flea, then another. As they were not even a week old, I have been too scared to give them a bath, but I do change bedding (which I wash on hot and with mild detergent) at least three times a day, and have also been combing them twice a day. I have a dog and I think he brought the fleas into the house because all of my cats are inside cats. Mom and kittens are isolated in my bedroom. I know that fleas are very dangerous to newborn kittens, but you cannot do much but bathe and comb them until they are more mature. There are not countless fleas, I find maybe 10 per day between mom, babies, and the bedding. Mom has seemed fine and continues to nurse, and the kittens continue to gain weight, but I have seen a good decrease in her appetite. At first I was giving her Fancy Feast wet food which she ate tons of, but then developed (what I believe to be, after research) a rodent ulcer. So I changed her food, and now she barely touches it. I have offered her several different brands and flavors; I have