Mastitis and continued nursing

Stewisonfire

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have a queen who is (guessing) less than one year old who just had a litter of 5 on June 30th. I took her and her kittens to a vet yesterday and she has an eye infection, was constipated and has mastitis. They told me I should wean the kittens and bottle feed. They didn’t mention anything about clearing her nipples of infection. They said that them continuing to nurse could make the problem wors From what I’ve read online it sounds like queens can continue to nurse unless it’s bad. And that it’s good for the mother and kittens. She’s had 3 doses of antibiotics so far. I am trying to syringe feed the kittens, but they’re use to mom and this is my first time doing this so it’s not going well so far. I would just like some other opinions/advice. The nipples that don’t have mastitis don’t seem to have milk, but I am not sure if I know how to really tell.
Also the kittens eyes were crusty and at least one of them had pus coming out, but the vet seemed to think they were fine and said I could give them the antibiotic ointment only once their eyes opened if I felt the need to. The kitten with the worst eye that had the pus on it has one eye open now, but not the bad one.
If she cannot nurse at all from here on should I try to wrap her stomach so she can still be with her kittens?

Attachments

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi
Are you gently wiping the kittens eyes with a damp warm soft cloth several times daily? That is necessary and will help save their eyes.

Also the antibiotic can get through the mamas system into the kittens through the milk.

This website has good information regarding how to feed, etc;

Kitten Care - Home — Kitten Lady

Last edited:

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise