It's been awhile since I came on here...

faerian

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I guess I just need to talk to somebody about this other than my mother, who is really not helping me cope with this. I'm going off to college in the fall (yay!), but in just a couple of days I'm going into the hospital for minor surgery (sorry if I misspelled that). I was born with a cleft lip, and now I'm getting the last repair made that should proabably should have been done years ago. There's no better way to say, other than I'm getting some fat sucked out of my butt and injected into my lip to puff out the rest of the cleft. However, I have to go into the hospital to get this done and go under anesthesia. Now, I get panic attacks just by having blood drawn-I am NOT good with needles. I've gotten better the last couple of years, but I'm still deathly afraid of the OR. My mom isn't exactly helping either, though she's trying. She keeps saying I need it, becuase she notices it when I laugh. But I never wanted to have this done, it was her idea in the first place. She scheduled the operation without heeding my opinion, and I just feel like it's my own body, but I can't find a way to tell her, and I think it's way too late now. I had 2 boyfriends who loved me for who I am, not what my lip looked like while I laugh.

katkisses

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Explain all of this to your mom, tell her that you are happy with who you are. If she still pushes the issue tell her that you feel that she is being selfish. You are old enough to make your own decision, and if you deicde later on that you want the surgery then that is still an option. It is your body and your choice though.

jessy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hey it's your face, you live with it every day, if you are happy with it and the thought of surgery scares you then don't do it :hug: