Introducing Two Cats Questions

amona27

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi,

I would need some help "translating" some of my two cats' behavior during introductions.

I am in the process of introducing two cats. I've had my kitty - the resident cat, for almost two years. I've been knowing her for almost 4 years though as she was a feral cat living mostly in the backyard of the house I used to live in (found her there when we moved in). We trapped her together with her 4 kittens and eventually I adopted her. She was very feral at the beginning, she did not let me touch her for a few months. Then she mellowed down after she was spayed and we got closer and closer. She loves being petted and brushed now, but she still doesn't let me pick her up - and I am OK with that, I let her be. She is a very calm kitty, although she plays a bit every day, she mostly likes to watch out the window. She never does anything "wrong", not because I don't let her, she just doesn't, she's very good. I don't know exactly her age, but the guess is that she's about 4 years old.

I recently adopted another kitty, Zorba, a 10 month old boy (that's the vet's estimate, we don't know exactly as he was a stray). He is very energetic and very friendly, although he has quite a strong personality.

I did all that introduction staff, keeping them separated, introducing them through scent, feeding them on both sides of the door, etc, and it's now been almost three weeks since we started. My kitty seems to be interested in Zorba, she comes at his door and tries to look underneath. But if I open the door, ever so slightly, she hisses at him and even threw paws at him (didn't get him, the door was not open wide enough for her paws to get at him).

Zorba on the other hand seem to really pine for her, he lays at her door and calls her, and then rolls over, showing his belly (although she can't see).